DreamHost Review

After 18 months of testing, let’s package up all the DreamHost Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

DreamHost Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 26 Aug 2017

Test #1: Desktop Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • DreamHost has been consistently slow, but were still competitive in 2016. This situation worsened considerably in 2017, in particular the last 9 weeks, where their average speed dropped to 7.15s. As a result of these unacceptably slow times, DreamHost was replaced by Lightning Base on 23 Apr 2017.
  • DreamHost is currently ranked in 10th place in our Desktop Speed Rankings.
DreamHost Desktop Speed Test Results Table - Overall

2017 Results

DreamHost Desktop Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Apr 2017
DreamHost Desktop Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Apr 2017

2016 Results

DreamHost Desktop Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
DreamHost Desktop Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • DreamHost’s uptime was acceptable during 2016, finishing mid-table. However, 2017 has been really disappointing, with the last 9 weeks resulting in a downtime of 476 minutes.
  • DreamHost is currently ranked 9th in our Uptime Rankings.
DreamHost Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Apr 2017

DreamHost Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • After being competitive in 2016, and even showing signs of improvement, DreamHost has dramatically fallen off the cliff in the last 9 weeks of 2017. With no actionable solutions coming through from their support team, DreamHost needed to be replaced as they were not able to compete with our other hosts in both speed and uptime.
  • DreamHost is currently 9th in our Overall Rankings.
DreamHost Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Apr 2017

How does DreamHost compare to our 9 other Hosts?