A2 Hosting Review

After 2+ Years of testing, let’s package up all the A2 Hosting Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

A2 Hosting Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 07 Jul 2018

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • A2 Hosting’s Speed was impressive in 2016, and they typically found themselves in the top 2 of our 8 hosts. Unfortunately, their extremely poor uptime performance led to their removal on 28th Jan 2017. Read below for more details.
  • A2 is 9th in our Speed Rankings.
A2 Hosting Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H1 2017 Results

A2 Hosting Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
A2 Hosting Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

A2 Hosting Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
A2 Hosting Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • A2 Hosting performed extremely poorly when it came to Uptime. This was especially evident in Q4 2016, where downtime was a whopping 575 minutes, which is almost 10 hours. This continued into 2017, with a further 939 minutes downtime in just 3 weeks. This unbelievably bad performance resulted in A2 Hosting being replaced by Namecheap for future testing.
  • A2 is currently 10th in our Uptime Rankings.
A2 Hosting Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

A2 Hosting Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • Even though A2 Hosting were able to perform impressively when it came to loading times in 2016, their weakness was always poor uptime. This became a serious problem in Q4 2016 and continued into 2017. Unfortunately, this led to A2 being unable to compete with our other hosts, and ultimately requiring them to be replaced.
  • A2 is currently 10th in our Overall Rankings.
A2 Hosting Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

How does A2 Hosting compare to our 9 other Hosts?