HostGator Review

After 2 Years of testing, let’s package up all the HostGator Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

HostGator Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 30 Dec 2017

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • HostGator’s speed was typically in the bottom half of our hosts across 2016. However, there has been a noticeable speed improvement in 2017, highlighted by a brilliant time of 0.94s with WP Rocket & Cloudflare setup during H1 2017.
  • HostGator is currently ranked in 4th place in our Speed Rankings.
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H2 2017 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • HostGator’s uptime has been let down by 1 horrendous week (Week 43), where they recorded 425 minutes of downtime. Hopefully they can avoid these extremely poor weeks going forward.
  • HostGator is currently ranked 8th in our Uptime Rankings.
HostGator Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

HostGator Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • HostGator’s speed started in the bottom half of our hosts in 2016, but has really impressed in 2017 with a move into the top half. Unfortunately, they are being held back by 1 disastrous week of uptime, where they experienced a ridiculous 425 minutes of outages. Looking into 2018, I would like to see HostGator’s speed continue to improve as well as gain consistency with their uptime.
  • HostGator is currently 7th in our Overall Rankings.
HostGator Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

How does HostGator compare to our 9 other Hosts?