HostGator Review

After 2+ Years of testing, let’s package up all the HostGator Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

HostGator Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 07 Jul 2018

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • HostGator’s speed has typically been around the mid pack of our hosts across 2016 to 2018. Their best performance was in H1 2017 where they were 3rd fastest, but H1 2018 has seen a dropoff to 7th fastest.
  • HostGator is currently ranked in 5th place in our Speed Rankings.
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H1 2018 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018

H2 2017 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

HostGator Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
HostGator Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • HostGator’s uptime has been let down by 1 horrendous week (Week 43), where they recorded 425 minutes of downtime. So far in 2018, they have avoided any one off poor weeks, and a result have been the 5th best performer.
  • HostGator is currently ranked 6th in our Uptime Rankings.
HostGator Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

HostGator Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • While HostGator’s speed has shown promise at times, it would best be described as inconsistent across the 2+ years of testing. And unfortunately, they are also being held back by 1 disastrous week of uptime, where they experienced a ridiculous 425 minutes of outages. As we consider the second half of 2018, I would like to see HostGator’s speed improve as well as continue avoiding large downtime weeks.
  • HostGator is currently 5th in our Overall Rankings.
HostGator Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

How does HostGator compare to our 9 other Hosts?