SiteGround Review

After 2 Years of testing, let’s package up all the SiteGround Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

SiteGround Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 30 Dec 2017

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • SiteGround’s speed was typically in the bottom half of our hosts during 2016. How things have turned around in 2017, where they dramatically improved to 2nd during the 1st half of 2017, then took things a step further to finish 1st in the 2nd half of 2017.
  • SiteGround is currently sitting in 2nd place in our Speed Rankings.
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H2 2017 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • SiteGround have performed brilliantly when it comes to Uptime, showing rare consistency across both 2016 & 2017. One area where SiteGround has excelled is avoiding horror weeks with significant downtime.
  • SiteGround is currently ranked 2nd in our Uptime Rankings.
SiteGround Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

SiteGround Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • SiteGround’s performance was solid throughout 2016, but has really stepped up across 2017, especially in the speed department. If there consistency with uptime continues, coupled with further improvement in speed, SiteGround could really challenge for the coveted #1 Ranking in 2018.
  • This results in SiteGround currently sitting 2nd in our Overall Rankings.
SiteGround Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

How does SiteGround compare to our 9 other Hosts?