SiteGround Review

After 2+ Years of testing, let’s package up all the SiteGround Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

SiteGround Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 07 Jul 2018

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • SiteGround’s speed was typically in the bottom half of our hosts during 2016. How things have turned around in 2017 & 2018, with a dramatic improvement to 2nd during the 1st half of 2017. SiteGround have then taken it a step further to be our fastest host in both the 2nd half of 2017 as well as the 1st half of 2018.
  • SiteGround is currently sitting in 2nd place in our Speed Rankings.
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H1 2018 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018

H2 2017 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

SiteGround Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
SiteGround Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • SiteGround have performed brilliantly when it comes to Uptime, showing rare consistency for the 2+ years we’ve been testing. Their performance in H1 2018 has been their best so far, with just 12 minutes of downtime.
  • SiteGround is currently ranked 2nd in our Uptime Rankings.
SiteGround Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

SiteGround Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • SiteGround’s performance was solid throughout 2016, but has really stepped up across 2017 & 2018. Their uptime consistency has been very impressive, and coupled with being our fastest host over the last year, SiteGround is getting really close to achieving the coveted #1 Ranking.
  • SiteGround is currently sitting 2nd in our Overall Rankings.
SiteGround Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

How does SiteGround compare to our 9 other Hosts?