Bluehost Review

After 2 Years of testing, let’s package up all the Bluehost Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

Bluehost Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 30 Dec 2017

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • Bluehost’s average speed has been poor, consistently finishing in the bottom 3 hosts. When you ignore the results of the 2 hosts that have been removed due to unacceptable performance (A2 Hosting & DreamHost), Bluehost has been the slowest throughout the 2 years of testing.
  • Bluehost is currently ranked in 8th place in our Speed Rankings.
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H2 2017 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • Bluehost have performed poorly when it comes to Uptime. This was especially evident in Week 1, where downtime was 56 minutes; Week 55, where downtime was 63 minutes; and Week 57, where downtime was 65 minutes. In a promising sign, from Week 63 through to Week 89, Bluehost has restricted downtime to just 14 minutes total, which is the 2nd best performance across all hosts during this timeframe.
  • Bluehost is currently ranked 7th in our Uptime Rankings.
Bluehost Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

Bluehost Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • Bluehost has been consistently the slowest of our active hosts. Combined with a less than stellar uptime has kept Bluehost towards the bottom of the table. The hope going forward is the improved uptime in the second half of 2017 continues into 2018.
  • Bluehost is currently 8th in our Overall Rankings.
Bluehost Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

How does Bluehost compare to our 9 other Hosts?