Bluehost Review

After 2+ Years of testing, let’s package up all the Bluehost Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

Bluehost Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 07 Jul 2018

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • Bluehost’s average speed was poor across 2016 & 2017, consistently finishing in the bottom 2 hosts. However, in 2018, there has been a massive turnaround, as they have been our 4th fastest host in H1 2018.
  • Bluehost is currently ranked in 6th place in our Speed Rankings.
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H1 2018 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018

H2 2017 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

Bluehost Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
Bluehost Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • Bluehost performed poorly when it came to Uptime across 2016 & 2017. But once again 2018 is a different story, recording just 6 minutes of downtime in H1 2018. It is a remarkable result when you consider the past performance, but amazingly Bluehost is the best performing host for uptime in 2018 so far.
  • Bluehost is currently ranked 4th in our Uptime Rankings.
Bluehost Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

Bluehost Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • Bluehost was consistently the slowest of our active hosts across 2016 & 2017. Combined with a less than stellar uptime resulted in it being 8th Overall at the end of 2017. But the big news of 2018 is the miraculous turnaround of Bluehost’s speed and especially it’s uptime performance. This has led to a massive jump in the overall rankings.
  • Bluehost is now 4th in our Overall Rankings.
Bluehost Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

How does Bluehost compare to our 9 other Hosts?