GoDaddy Review

After 2+ Years of testing, let’s package up all the GoDaddy Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

GoDaddy Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 07 Jul 2018

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • GoDaddy’s Speed was the fastest throughout 2016. They maintained similar speeds in 2017, but other hosts started to outperform them. And now the most recent results for GoDaddy in 2018 are quite similar, fast but just behind a couple of our other hosts.
  • GoDaddy is currently sitting in 3rd place in our Speed Rankings.
GoDaddy Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H1 2018 Results

GoDaddy Speed Test Chart - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018
GoDaddy Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018

H2 2017 Results

GoDaddy Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
GoDaddy Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

GoDaddy Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
GoDaddy Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

2016 Results

GoDaddy Speed Test Chart - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016
GoDaddy Speed Test Results Table - Apr 2016 to Dec 2016

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • GoDaddy have performed brilliantly when it comes to Uptime over the last 2+ years. Unfortunately, there was 1 blemish on their record, during Week 73 they incurred 96 minutes of downtime. To put this into perspective, across the other 115 weeks of testing, they have only had 105 minutes of downtime. Even with this poor week, they are still one of the best performers.
  • GoDaddy is currently ranked 3rd in our Uptime Rankings.
GoDaddy Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

GoDaddy Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • GoDaddy’s performance has been excellent across the board, and are currently ranked #3 in both speed & uptime tests. Their consistency throughout 2016 was very impressive, however, across 2017 & 2018 there have been a couple of hosts that have overtaken them in both the speed and uptime departments. Let’s see whether GoDaddy can turn back the clock in the second half of 2018 and rediscover their consistent top end performance?
  • GoDaddy is currently 3rd in our Overall Rankings.
GoDaddy Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

How does GoDaddy compare to our 9 other Hosts?