Namecheap Review

After 2+ Years of testing, let’s package up all the Namecheap Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

Namecheap Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 07 Jul 2018

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • From the time they were added in Jan 2017, Namecheap’s speed has consistently been in the bottom half of our hosts. While their rank of 5th in the first half of 2018 was their best so far, they were only just ahead of our 6th placed host and the gap to 4th was significant.
  • Namecheap is currently ranked in 8th place in our Speed Rankings.
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H1 2018 Results

Namecheap Speed Test Chart - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2018 to Jul 2018

H2 2017 Results

Namecheap Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

Namecheap Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • While Namecheap tend to experience downtime each week, the duration was usually short in 2017. This resulted in a 4th place ranking at the end of 2017. The first half of 2018 has seen Namecheap drop significantly in the rankings, largely due to a poor 3 week performance where there was 183 minutes of downtime from Week 94 to 96.
  • Namecheap is currently ranked 7th in our Uptime Rankings.
Namecheap Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

Namecheap Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • The early signs for Namecheap indicated they were below average when it came to speed and above average with uptime. The concern is how their performance has dropped away in 2018, especially in terms of their poor uptime results. They have a lot of room for improvement as we head into the second half of 2018.
  • Namecheap is currently 8th in our Overall Rankings.
Namecheap Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Jul 2018

How does Namecheap compare to our 9 other Hosts?