Namecheap Review

After 2 Years of testing, let’s package up all the Namecheap Test Results and find out how they’ve performed so far…

Namecheap Review – Testing Method

  • Prior to testing, I have setup identical content on all 8 Live Test Sites
  • Each week over 80,000 speed & uptime tests are run using independent tools, GTmetrix & Pingdom
  • GTmetrix Logo 50Pingdom Logo 50

  • Test results below are from 04 Apr 2016 to 30 Dec 2017

Test #1: Speed

The GTmetrix Speed Test checks how long it takes for a website to fully load using a desktop internet browser. This test is then repeated every hour throughout the week (1,340 times).

  • Namecheap’s speed has typically been in the bottom half of our hosts, from the time they were added in Jan 2017. There are some worrying signs as 2017 comes to a close, with Namecheap logging the slowest time of all host during the last 3 weeks of the year.
  • Namecheap is currently ranked in 7th place in our Speed Rankings.
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Overall

H2 2017 Results

Namecheap Speed Test Chart - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Aug 2017 to Dec 2017

H1 2017 Results

Namecheap Speed Test Chart - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017
Namecheap Speed Test Results Table - Jan 2017 to Aug 2017

Test #2: Uptime

The Pingdom Uptime Test confirms that the website is actually accessible to visitors. This test is then repeated every minute throughout the week (80,640 times).

  • Namecheap tend to experience downtime each week, however, the duration is usually short. To align with the rest of our hosts, their downtime has been extrapolated to cover a year. They are currently in the top half based on this annualised downtime, but like their speed, the last 3 weeks has been Namecheap’s worst of 2017.
  • Namecheap is currently ranked 4th in our Uptime Rankings.
Namecheap Uptime Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

Namecheap Review – Overall Test Results

The Overall Ranking accumulates the results from the speed & uptime tests to determine the #1 Host.

  • The early signs for Namecheap indicated they were below average when it came to speed and above average with uptime. The concern is how they have ended 2017, being the worst performed host in both speed and uptime over the last 3 weeks. Hopefully this is just a blip, I guess we will find soon enough as we head into 2018.
  • Namecheap is currently 6th in our Overall Rankings.
Namecheap Overall Test Results - Apr 2016 to Dec 2017

How does Namecheap compare to our 9 other Hosts?